Top Left Corner Top Right Corner
Yuma Regional Medical Center
Pad Lock
Before TopNav
Left Side

Left Nav Bottom

Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+) font size


Media Alert
YRMC Volunteer Scholarship Recipients Announced



Kaitlan Schick or Shay Andres
Community Relations department
(928) 336-7005

(June 25, 2013 – Yuma, Arizona) Yuma Regional Medical Center (YRMC) volunteers are pleased to announce the 2013 Volunteer Scholarship recipients. The scholarships, valued at a total of $11,000, were awarded to six students who are pursuing a career in a medical field. 

Students must meet the following criteria:

Be a current resident of Yuma County and attending or accepted at Arizona Western College or Northern Arizona University-Yuma and have a GPA of 3.0 or higher, and:

  • Graduating high school seniors with an interest in health related career programs
  • Current college students accepted to or currently enrolled in an accredited health-related career program
  • Graduate students accepted to or currently enrolled in a health related career program

This year's Volunteer Memorial Scholarships, given in memory of those volunteers who have nurtured the Scholarship Program, were awarded to:

  • Angela Briones (selected to the AWC Nursing Program for fall 2013)
  • Jessica Martinez (enrolled in the AWC Nursing Program since August 2012)
  • Malia Brown (enrolled in the NAU-Yuma Nursing Program since January 2013)
  • AnaBel Magallon (has completed three semesters in the NAU-Yuma Nursing Program)
  • Krishna Wilson (enrolled in the Radiologic Technology Program at AWC since August 2012)

The Professor Howard W. Griffiths Memorial Scholarship, given in memory of Professor Howard Griffiths by Marilyn Griffiths, a devoted volunteer at YRMC, was awarded to Arturo Gomez (has completed his second semester in the NAU-Yuma Nursing Program).

These scholarships are made possible by the fund raising efforts of the volunteers, proceeds from the retail operations at YRMC and donations from supporters of the volunteers.

Photo information:

From left to right -

  • Anabel Magallon
  • Angela Briones
  • Jessica Martinez
  • Krishna Wilson
  • Arturo Gomez
  • Malia Brown

Back row - (part of the Scholarship Committee)

  • Del Cave
  • Marilyn Griffiths
  • James Weinlader 

Related Links